Soviet Bloc Strongly Represented at Israeli Reception at U. N.
Menu JTA Search

Soviet Bloc Strongly Represented at Israeli Reception at U. N.

Download PDF for this date

United Nations delegations of East and West alike, including leaders of the Big Four delegations, were present last night at the annual reception given by the Israel delegation to the diplomats of the world organization.

Virtually all members of the United States delegation, led by Undersecretary of State Walter S. Robertson, attended the event. Included were several leading Congressional members of the delegation as well as George Meany, president of the AFL-CIO, who is a member of the U.S. delegation.

Representatives of the Soviet bloc countries turned out in large numbers, led by Arkady Sobolev, chairman of the Soviet delegation. Also represented were Byelorussia, Poland, Bulgaria and Hungary. Britain’s delegation was led by Sir Pierson Dixon, permanent chairman of the delegation and Harold Beeley. Maurice Couve de Murville, Foreign Minister of France, headed the French group. Others attending included V.M. Krishna Menon of India, as well as diplomatic representatives of Turkey, Iran, Burma and other countries.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund