Academy of Jewish Research Re-elects Officers; Names Three Fellows
Menu JTA Search

Academy of Jewish Research Re-elects Officers; Names Three Fellows

Download PDF for this date

Professor Salo W. Baron today was re-elected president of the American Academy for Jewish Research, at the Academy’s 32nd annual meeting, held here today. The other principal officers were also re-elected. They are vice-president, Prof. Shalom Spiegel, of Columbia University; treasurer, Prof. Harry M. Orlinsky, of the Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion; secretary, Prof. Abraham S. Halkin, of the City College of New York; and recording secretary, Prof. Joshua Finkel, of Yeshiva University.

The Academy also elected Dr. Abraham L. Sachar, president of Brandeis University, to honorary membership, and chose the following scholars as fellows: Dr. Moshe Perlmann, of Harvard; Dr. Eric Werner, of HUC-JIR; and Dr. Alexander Altmann, of Brandeis.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund