Menu JTA Search

15 Jews Listed As Candidates in Parliamentary Elections in South Africa

Fifteen Jews are among 248 candidates listed here today as nominees for the Republic of South Africa’s general parliamentary elections to be held in this country October 18. Nine of the Jewish candidates are representatives of the United Party, four are lined up with the Progressive Party, while the remaining two are members of the Government Independent Party.

Two of the Jewish candidates are unopposed to represent their constituencies. They are Dr. E. L. Fisher, of this city; and N. Taurog, of Springs. Both are members of the outgoing parliament, representing the United Party. In three constituencies, Jewish candidates are running against one another under different party labels.

A prominent South African Jew, Alfred H. Honikman, was installed this weekend as the new Mayor of Capetown. Formerly deputy mayor of Capetown, Mr. Honikman has been prominently associated with Jewish and general philanthropic activities. He is chairman of the Board of Governors of South Africa’s National Gallery.