Menu JTA Search

Israel Cabinet Formulates Rule on ‘collective Responsibility’

The Cabinet today formulated a collective responsibility clause which provides for the automatic resignation of any Cabinet member who votes in the Knesset against a Government decision or who abstains from supporting it in the Israeli Parliament.

The regulation, which will be submitted to the Knesset for approval, also makes a Cabinet Minister responsible for the abstention in the Knesset by members of his party on a motion for supporting the Government in any confidence vote. Such Ministers will also be regarded as having automatically resigned unless they obtain prior approval by the Cabinet to abstain “for reasons of conscience.”

The Cabinet also set up a Ministerial Committee for Security Affairs to deal with policy matters regarding defense. Headed by Prime Minister David Ben-Gurion, the members of the committee include Yigal Allon, Minister of Labor; Finance Minister Levi Eshkol; Agriculture Minister Moshe Dayan; Foreign Minister Golda Meir; and Interior Minister Moshe Shapira.