Menu JTA Search

Eleven New Jewish All-day Schools Reported Opened in Seven States

Eleven new Jewish day schools were opened in seven different states at the start of the current academic year, raising to 274 the total number of such schools at all levels throughout the United States, it was announced here last night by Samuel C. Feuerstein, president of Torah Umesorah, the National Society for Hebrew Day Schools.

Mr. Feuerstein, speaking at the 18th annual dinner of the Society, reported that new day schools were opened in Dayton, Ohio; Portland, Oregon; Omaha, Nebraska; Peoria, Illinois; Tucson, Arizona; Newark, New Jersey; Cleveland, Ohio; the Bronx, New York; and three schools in Brooklyn, New York.

He told the 500 Jewish educators and lay education leaders attending the dinner that the 274 primary, junior and senior high schools were located in 102 communities in 27 states and that Torah Umesorah had had a major role in the founding of 140 of the schools in 70 communities since its formation in 1944.