Dr. Mark Re-elected President of the Synagogue Council; Outlines Views
Menu JTA Search

Dr. Mark Re-elected President of the Synagogue Council; Outlines Views

Download PDF for this date

Dr. Julius Mark, Senior Rabbi of Temple Emanu-E1, was re-elected president of the Synagogue Council of America for a one-year term at the closing plenary session of the program year today. The Synagogue Council of America is the national coordinating agency of rabbinic and congregational organizations of Orthodox, Conservative and Reform Jewry.

In accepting the leadership of the Synagogue Council of America for a second term, Dr. Mark stressed the unique character of the organization in presenting the views of the Jewish religious community on the American scene. “We of the Synagogue Council of America, speaking for the totality of Jewish religious life in our country, are proud to work with the National Catholic Welfare Conference and the National Council of Churches in building bridges of understanding among all believers in God’s Fatherhood and man’s brotherhood, ” he said,

Warning of the perils facing the world by the continued cold war and the threats posed by the outbreak of brush fire wars in various parts of the world, Dr. Mark urged joint action by the three faiths to turn the major world powers back towards the paths of religion and peace. “If a just and permanent peace is to be established on the earth, the forces of religion must speak out unitedly against racial discrimination, national hatreds and religious bigotry, ” he said.

The plenary session of the Synagogue Council also re-elected the following officers to another one-year term: vice-presidents: Rabbi Uri Miller of Baltimore and Rabbi Seymour J. Cohen of Chicago; treasurer: Philip Greene of Jamaica, New York; Recording secretary: Herbert Berman of Queens, New York; and corresponding secretary: Dr. Robert L. Nach of Yonkers. Rabbi Philip Hiat is executive vice-president of the Council.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund