Alexander Teitz Elected President of Friends of Touro Synagogue
Menu JTA Search

Alexander Teitz Elected President of Friends of Touro Synagogue

Download PDF for this date

Alexander G. Teitz of Newport, R. I., a prominent attorney and Jewish communal leader, was yesterday elected president of the Society of Friends of the Touro Synagogue. The synagogue, a United States national historic shrine in Newport, was dedicated in 1763.

Mr. Teitz succeeds Dr. Bernard G. Friedman who served as president of the Society for the past 16 years. Elections of the Society were held at the synagogue, where special ceremonies were addressed by Senator Claiborne Pell of Rhode Island. Other officers elected were Milton E. Mitler, vice-president Robert G. Mirman, treasurer, and Rabbi Theodore Lewis, secretary.

Elected to the board of directors were Judge Edgar J. Nathan, Jr., Adrian Baumgart, the Rev. Dr. Louis C. Gerstein, Simon Mataeles, the Rev. Dr. David De Sola Pool and Victor Tairy of the Congregation Sheareth Israel of New York. New Yorkers named to the advisory committee of twenty-five were Jack Kaplan, Karl M. Loeb, Morris Morgenstern, Arthur Hays Sulzberger, Herbert H. Lehman, Ben Touster, Samuel Rosen and Lawrence A. Wein.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund