Menu JTA Search

Baltimore Hebrew Congregation Celebrates Its 133rd Anniversary

Maryland’s oldest synagogue, the Baltimore Hebrew Congregation, celebrated its 133rd anniversary here and elected as its president one of the youngest men ever to hold the top office. The new president, succeeding Jerold C. Hoffberger, who served a three-year term, is Samuel L. Frank.

The Baltimore Hebrew Congregation was the first Jewish house of worship to be chartered by Maryland. The new president is the grandson of his namesake, the late Samuel L. Frank, who was president and vice-president of the congregation for varying terms from 1886 to 1905. Rabbi Morris Lieberman officiated at installation services for Mr. Frank.