Menu JTA Search

American Zionist Council Pays Tribute to Memory of Louis Lipsky

Tribute to the late Louis Lipsky, dean of American Zionists, was paid here tonight at the traditional Herzl-Bialik Commemorative Observance sponsored by the American Zionist Council. Mr. Lipsky died a month ago. Speakers emphasized his role as the heir and leading spirit of the Herzl tradition in the United States.

The speakers included Rabbi Irving Miller, chairman of the Council; Mrs. Siegfried Kramarsky, Council vice-chairman and president of Hadassah; Rabbi Mordecai Kirshblum, Council vice-chairman and president of the Religious Zionists of America; Jacob A. Katzman, member of the Council’s executive committee, and associate general secretary of Farband; an Paul L. Goldman, Council secretary and general secretary of the United Labor Zionist party. Rabbi Jerome Unger, Council executive director, arranged and coordinated the program which was held at the Theodor Herzl Institute Auditorium.