Menu JTA Search

Sol Satinsky Re-elected President of Jewish Publication Society

Sol Satinsky, prominent Jewish leader, was re-elected for a sixth consecutive term as president of the Jewish Publication Society of America at the organization’s 77th annual meeting.

Dr. Golomon Grayzel was re-elected as JPS editor. He was honored at a special reception for completing 25 years as editor, at which Dr. Salo Baron, professor of Jewish history at Columbia University, was the principal speaker paying tribute to Dr. Grayzel’s role in Jewish educational life. Lesser Zussman was elected to his 16th term as JPS executive director.

Re-elected vice-presidents were: Dr. Jacob R. Marcus, Bernard L. Frankel, Bernard G. Segal, Joseph M. First and David C. Melnicoff. Named honorary presidents were: Jack Solis-Cohen, Jr., former Judge Louis E. Levinthal and former Chief Justice Horace Stern of the Pennsylvania State Supreme Court. Other officers re-elected were: Edwin Wolf 2nd, chairman, publications committee; Myer Feinstein, treasurer; and Jerome J. Shestack, secretary.