Seven Authors Win Jewish Book Council Awards for Best Jewish Books
Menu JTA Search

Seven Authors Win Jewish Book Council Awards for Best Jewish Books

Download PDF for this date

Meyer Levin’s novel, “The Stronghold” has been named the outstanding English-language work of fiction of Jewish interest published in the United States during 1965, it was announced today by Dr. Gilbert Klaperman, president of the National Jewish Welfare Board Jewish Book Council of America.

Mr. Levin will receive the $400 Harry and Ethel Daroff Memorial Award at the Jewish Book Council’s annual meeting on June 1. Six other prizes totaling $2,550 for 1965’s best Jewish books in Jewish thought, the Nazi Holocaust, Yiddish, Hebrew and English poetry and in the juvenile field will also be awarded at the annual meeting.

The $500 Leon Jolson Award for the best book on the Nazi Holocaust will go to Zosa Szajkowski for his “Analytical Franco-Jewish Gazeteer, 1939-45.” Rabbi David Polish will receive the Frank and Ethel S. Cohen Award of $400 for the best book on Jewish thought as the author of “The Higher Freedom, A New Turning Point in Jewish History.”

The $400 Isaac Siegel Memorial Juvenile Award has been voted to Betty Schechter for “The Dreyfus Affair. ” The Harry and Florence Kovner Memorial Awards of $250 each for volumes of poetry will go to Ruth Finer Mintz in English poetry for “The Darkening Green;” Dr. Simon Halkin in Hebrew poetry for “Crossing the Jabbok, ” and to Kadia Molodowsky in Yiddish poetry for “Licht fun Dorenboim.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund