Eban Arrives to Head Israel’s Delegation to the U.N. Assembly
Menu JTA Search

Eban Arrives to Head Israel’s Delegation to the U.N. Assembly

Download PDF for this date

Israel’s Foreign Minister, Abba Eban, arrived here today to head, in the 21st session of the General Assembly, an Israeli delegation which includes 25 diplomats and principal aides. During the early period of the Assembly, which is expected to last until about December 20, Mr. Eban will act as chairman of the Israeli delegation. The permanent chairman will be Israel’s permanent representative here, Ambassador Michael S. Comay.

There will be four other members on the delegation with the rank of full ambassador. They are: Gideon Raphael, of the Israeli Foreign Ministry, vice-chairman; Dr. Shabtai Rosenne, legal adviser to Israel’s Foreign Ministry; Joseph Tekoah, assistant director-general of the Foreign Ministry, who had served as Ambassador to the Soviet Union and Brazil; and Gershon Avner, Israel’s present Ambassador to Canada.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund