Menu JTA Search

Meyer Weisgal Elected President of Weizmann Institute at Rehovot

Meyer W. Weisgal, for many years chairman and chief executive officer of the Weizmann Institute of Science, at Rehovot was elected unanimously yesterday president of the institute. He succeeded Abba Eban, Israel’s Foreign Minister. The latter will remain a member of the institute directorate, and president of the Rehovot scientific international conferences which have brought international recognition to the institute.

Prof. Amos de Shalit, 40, a nuclear physicist, was named director general of the institute. He will be aided by a committee of institute scientists. The changes were announced at the institute’s annual general meeting by Dr. Dewey D. Stone, chairman of the board of directors.