Menu JTA Search

Arab Countries to Ignore Nobel Awards Ceremony for Jewish Writers

Two Arab countries, Egypt and Algeria, have informed the Nobel Institute they will not send representatives to the Nobel awards ceremony here on December 10 at which the Nobel Frize for literature will be presented to two Jewish writers, the first such award in the history of Nobel prizes.

The award winners are S. Y. Agnon, one of Israel’s leading Hebrew writers, and Nelly Sachs of Sweden. The Algerian representative reportedly said that the award to the two Jewish writers was “political” rather than purely literary.