Menu JTA Search

Four Yiddish and Hebrew Authors Receive 1966 Kessel Literary Prizes

Four Yiddish and Hebrew writer today were voted the 20th annual Kessel literary awards for 1966, it was announced by the cultural commission of the Central Committee of Jews in Mexico which administers the grants. The awards were established here in 1947 by Zvi Kessel, a prominent Mexican industrialist.

The winners were Jacob Glatstein, a Yiddish poet, of New York; Yefrim Yeshurin, a bibliographer; Simha Rubinstein, a Hebrew author; and M.M. Shafir, a Yiddish poet. Mr. Glatstein and Mr. Yeshurin received the full prize, each getting $400. Mr. Rubinstein and Mr. Shafir were voted $200 each.