International Conference on Nuclear Physics Opens in Israel
Menu JTA Search

International Conference on Nuclear Physics Opens in Israel

Download PDF for this date

More than 200 of the world’s leading physicists were in attendance today at the Second International Conference on Physics and Nuclear structure which opened yesterday for five days at the Weizmann Institute at Rehovot.

Countries represented include the Soviet Union, the United States, West Germany, East Germany, Iceland, South Africa, France, Sweden, India, Britain, Denmark, Finland, Norway and Italy.

The conclave was opened with tributes to the late Prof. Robert Oppenheimer, the American atomics expert. Among those paying tribute were Prof. Leon Van Hove of the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN), Prof. Amos de Shalit of the Weizmann Institute and Prof. B. P. Gregory of CERN.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund