Herut Leaders Who Quit Party Form Independent Faction in Knesset
Menu JTA Search

Herut Leaders Who Quit Party Form Independent Faction in Knesset

Download PDF for this date

Three former members of Herut, who broke away from their party several weeks ago, announced here today the formation of a “Free Bloc”for independent faction inside the Knesset (Parliament), of which they are members. They are Shmuel Tamir, E. Shostak and A. Tayar. They announced the formation of the new parliamentary bloc after Gahal — the fusion of Herut and the Liberal Party — refused to recognize them as a third division inside Gahal.

The action followed Gahal’s refusal to restore to the three their parliamentary rights, including membership in parliamentary committees, from which Herut expelled them six weeks ago. Gahal appointed a committee to examine the possibility of the restoration of those rights to the three members. But the three refused to wait for that committee’s decision. They also spurned proposals which, they said, failed to give them an equal footing with Herut and Liberal members.

As a result of the formation of the independent faction, Gahal is now left with 23 members, of whom 12 belong to the Liberals and 11 to Herut. Mr. Tamir said today, after his group’s announcement, that the new faction would seek a new parliamentary lineup with the Liberals — if Gahal should break up — or with Rafi, the Israel Workers Party led by former Premier David Ben-Gurion,

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund