Menu JTA Search

American Yiddish Writers, Israeli Hebrew Authors, Get Literature Prizes in Mexico

Leib Feinberg and Kadia Molodoswky, of New York, Yiddish poets, and Tzvi Swat and J.D. Rubin, of Israel, Hebrew writers, were awarded here, today the annual Gregorio Kessel Awards for literature, for 1967. Mr. Swat and Mr. Feinberg each received the full $500 prize that goes with the award. The two other recipients, Miss Molodowsky and Mr. Rubin, got $250 each, sharing one of the full prizes. The award was established here in 1947 by Mr. Kessel, a well-known Jewish industrialist and philanthropist. It is administered by the cultural commission of the Mexican Jewish Central Committee.