Menu JTA Search

Cabinet Decides to Allow Three Orthodox Jews to Remain in Hebron

The three Jewish settlers in Hebron whose residence permits had been revoked by the military governor for disobeying his orders will be allowed to remain, the Cabinet decided today.

Defense Minister Moshe Dayan, who had approved the original expulsion order, proposed that the settlers be allowed to stay after they sent a letter of apology to him and pledged that in the future they would obey all orders of the military government while proceeding with what they regard as their main obligation: reestablishing a Jewish settlement in Hebron and building a yeshiva there.

The basis question of settling Hebron, part of the territory assumed as a result of the Six-Day, June, 1967 war, is still to be decided by the Cabinet, government spokesmen stressed.