Menu JTA Search

5 Americans Elected to Jewish Agency Executive in Keeping with WZO Decision

Five prominent American Jews were elected to the Jewish Agency today in compliance with a decision by the 27th World Zionist Congress to expand the executive by five members who are not affiliated with any Zionist party. The new members are Prof. Simon Greenberg, vice-chancellor of the Jewish Theological Seminary of America; Prof. Benjamin Halpern, of Brandeis University; Dewey Stone, chairman of the board of the Weizmann Institute of Science; Rabbi Leon Feuer, a leader of American Reform Judaism; and Rabbi Emanuel Rackman, assistant to the president of Yeshiva University.