Stone, Levine Honored by World Leaders for Historic Services to Israel
Menu JTA Search

Stone, Levine Honored by World Leaders for Historic Services to Israel

Download PDF for this date

One thousand Jewish political, communal, scientific and intellectual leaders from the U.S., Israel and Europe last night paid tribute to Dewey D. Stone and Harry Levine for their historic services to the creation and development of the State of Israel and the Weizmann Institute of Science. A dinner held under the auspices of the American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science, marked the 70th birthday of Stone, who has served as chairman of the Board of Governors of the Institute since its founding in 1944, and the 75th birthday of Levine, a founding Governor of the Institute and treasurer of its American Committee since it was chartered in New York in 1944. Mrs. Abba Eban represented her husband, Israel’s Foreign Minister, who was scheduled to speak at the dinner but could not attend because he was in London meeting with British leaders and attending a conference of Israel’s European envoys. In a moving tribute, she said Stone and Levine were being honored “for their human qualities and for the causes to which they have given so much effort, love and loyalty over so many years. If we were to sum up what lies at the heart of their ambition, we could do so in simple words. They have wanted the Jewish people to have a home in which it can live in freedom; in which it can fully express its authentic personality; in which it can build institutions and make them grow and flourish; in which and from which it can give the Jewish people everywhere a cause for dignity and pride.”

In another tribute Meyer W. Weisgal, Chancellor of the Institute, said, “Together with their wives they formed what for years, has been almost a self-contained unit, powered by remarkable dedication and devotion to the cause of the Jewish people, of the State of Israel, and of the Weizmann Institute.” Greetings were received from Israel from President Zalman Shazar, Premier Golda Meir, David Ben Gurion, and Defense Minister Moshe Dayan. Shazar recalled the unbroken splendor “of Stone’s and Levine’s service to Israel decade after decade.” Mrs. Meir stated that “In their very persons and by their steadfast devotion and imaginative generosity, have come to symbolize the link between us and the great community of American Jews.” Among other greetings received were those from Dr. Nahum Goldmann, president of the World Jewish Congress; Dr. Israel Goldstein, world president of Keren Heyesod; Lord Sieff of Brimpton; and Sir Isaac Wolfson, honorary president of the Weizmann Institute Foundation of London.

Mrs. Eban, calling attention to the “real face of Israel, behind its military strength,” said “the main theme of Israeli life today is the preoccupation with the problem of peace…We seek peace not only because of revulsion against the futility of war, but also because peace is an autonomous value in itself.” In their response, Stone and Levine pledged themselves to continued service to Israel and the Weizmann institute. They noted that once there is peace with Israel’s Arab neighbors, the “know-how” of the institute’s scientists can be applied with equal effectiveness to the entire Mideast area. Stone and Levine were presented with sterling silver plaques. Stephen L. Stulman, the dinner chairman, and joint deputy chairman of the Institute’s Board of Governors, presented Mrs. Stone and Mrs. Levine with the Weizmann Award in Sciences and Humanities on behalf of the Board of Governors and Officers of the Institute. Thaw awards were presented “in recognition of uncommon devotion, encouragement and support to the Weizmann Institute of Science as wife and companion – in unfaltering labors for the growth and development of the Institute throughout its history.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund