Hoffberger to Head Smolar Award Committee for Excellence in American-jewish Journalism
Menu JTA Search

Hoffberger to Head Smolar Award Committee for Excellence in American-jewish Journalism

Download PDF for this date

Jerold C. Hoffberger, prominent Baltimore communal and business leader and chairman of the Executive Committee of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency, has been named chairman of the Smolar Award Committee for Excellence in American-Jewish Journalism, it was announced today by Max M. Fisher, Detroit, president of the Council of Jewish Federations and Welfare Funds (CJF). Also named to membership of the newly-formed prize committee are 14 distinguished representatives of the Jewish and general press, the arts and letter, the field of public relations, community leadership and the CJF Board. The Award, established last month in honor of noted journalist and author Boris Smolar, Editor-in-Chief Emeritus of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency, will recognize outstanding writing and reportage dealing particularly with American Jews and American Jewish communal developments. The Award is to be presented at the CJF’s annual General Assemblies. Among the 14 committee members recently appointed who will be working with Hoffberger and who are representatives of the Council’s Board are: Lavy M. Becker, Montreal, past president of Montreal’s Allied Jewish Community Services and of the Canadian Jewish Congress; Mrs., Louis A. Bernhard of Milwaukee, who is active on the CJF Large City Budgeting Conference; Saul Viener, of Richmond, a leader of the city’s Jewish Community Council and a board member of the National Foundation for Jewish Culture; and Mr. Fisher, ex-officio.

Representing the American Jewish press: Robert H. Arnow of New York, president of the JTA and of the American Association for Jewish Education; Jimmy Wisch of Ft. Worth, president, American Jewish Press Association; and Irving Isaacs of Pittsburgh, president, Jewish Chronicle of Pittsburgh, and a board member of the JTA. From the general press and journalism: Elie Abel of New York, Dean of Columbia School of Journalism and former foreign correspondent for the New York Times and reporter-commentator for NBC-TV News; and David Starr of New York, Editor, Long Island Press and board member of JTA. From the Arts and Letters; Elic Wiesel of New York. Representing Jewish Federation professional executive: Elmer Louis, executive director. Rochester United Jewish Welfare Fund and Rochester Jewish Community Council; Isidore Sobeloff of Los Angeles, past executive director, Detroit Jewish Welfare Federation and Los Angeles Jewish Federation-Council; and Dr. John Slawson of New York, vice-president emeritus, American Jewish Committee. From the field of public relations: Alfred Fleishman, St. Louis, public relations consultant and past president, St. Louis Jewish Federation. The committee, scheduled to convene for its first meeting in early July will, at that time, fix standards for the Award as well as establish nominating and eligibility procedures. Thereupon, communities, the media, and appropriate organizations and individuals will be informed and invited to submit entries and nominations.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund