Jewish Agency Issues Complies List of Members of Executive, Board of Governors
Menu JTA Search

Jewish Agency Issues Complies List of Members of Executive, Board of Governors

Download PDF for this date

The Jewish Agency today published the complete list of members elected to the executive of the reconstituted Jewish Agency and its the member Board of Governors, the policy-making body between sessions of the General Assembly. The General Assembly itself will comprise 296 members, half of them representatives of fund-raising bodies in Jewish communities throughout the world and the other half representing the World Zionist Organization. Louis A. Pincus of Jerusalem, as chairman of the General Assembly and the Executive, heads the reconstituted Jewish Agency, Max M. Fisher of Detroit, was elected chairman of the Board of Governors Lean Dulsin of Jerusalem is treasurer and Moshe Rivlin of Jerusalem was elected director general. Of the nine members of the Executive under Pincus, three are residents of the U.S.–Fisher, Edward Ginsberg of Cleveland and Melvin Dubinsky of St. Louis. One, Michael Sacher, is from England. The other five. all residents of Israel. are Dulzin; Dr. Ra’anan Weitz, head of the agricultural settlement department; Rabbi Mordechai Kirshblum, associate head of the immigration and absorption department; Joseph Klarman, head of Youth Aliyah; and Ezra Shapiro, newly elected chairman of Keren Hayesod. Two New Yorkers were elected associate members of the executive–Philip Bernstein, executive vice chairman of the Council of Jewish Federations and Welfare Funds and Gottlieb Hammer, executive vice chairman of the United Israel Appeal. Ben-Zion Meiri, of Israel, was elected comptroller of the Agency.

Of the 40 member Board of Governors, 20 are Americans: Albert Adelman, Milwaukee; Victor Carter. Los Angeles, Melvin Dubinsky, St. Louis, Rabbi Loon I, Feuer, Toledo; Max M. Fisher, Detroit; Edward Ginsberg, Cleveland; Prof, Ben Halpern, Waltham, Mass; Rabbi Arthur Hertzberg, Englewood, New Jersey; Mrs. Charlotte Jacobson, New York City; Morris Lovinson, New York City; Joseph Meyerhoff, Baltimore; Rabbi Israel Miller, New York City; Dr. Emanuel Neumann, New York City; Rabbi Emanuel Rackman, New York City; Robert Russell, Miami; Samuel Rothberg, Peoria, III.; Louis Stern, Essex County, New Jersey; Dewoy D. Stone, Brockton, Mass.; Jack Weiler, New York City; and Paul Zuckerman, Detroit. The Israeli members of the Board of Governors are: Mordechai Bar On, Leon Dulzin, Hayim Finkelstein, Rabbi Israel Goldstein, Mrs. Raya Jagblom, Rabbi Mordechai Kirschblum, Joseph Klarman, Moshe Krone, Andre Narboni, Louis A. Pincus, Avraham Schenker. and Dr. Ra’anan Weitz. Of the eight other members of the Board of Governors, two are from Great Britain–Hyam Morrison and Michael Sacher–and one each from: France, Melech Topiol; Switzerland. Dr. Tibor Rosenbaum; South Africa, Judge Israel Maisels; Brazil, Leon Feffer; Argentina, Leon Mirelman; and Canada, Gordon Brown.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund