Writers Get Remembrance Award
Menu JTA Search

Writers Get Remembrance Award

Download PDF for this date

Abba Kovner, an Israeli poet, and Nadezhda Mandelstam of Moscow were yesterday named the winners of the 1971-72 Remembrance Award for outstanding literature relating to the holocaust and its aftermath. The award is sponsored by the World Federation of Bergen-Belson Associations. Mrs. Mandelstam is the author of “Hope Against Hope,” a biography of her late husband, the Russian-Jewish poet Osip Mandelstam who was a victim of the Stalin purges. Kovner is the author of “Little Sister of Mine” and several volumes of poetry and prose dealing with his experiences as a ghetto fighter and member of the anti-Nazi resistance movement during World War II.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund