1972 Nominations Open for Zacks Award
Menu JTA Search

1972 Nominations Open for Zacks Award

Download PDF for this date

Nominations for the 1972 Aaron Zacks Memorial Award in the amount of $3,000 for “original, exciting and measurable contributions made by a Jewish educator currently engaged in the formal setting of a Jewish elementary or high school,” are now being accepted, it was announced by Robert H. Arnow, president of the American Association for Jewish Education. The award was established in 1969 by a special grant from the Zacks Family Foundation of Columbus, O., in memory of Aaron Zacks, Columbus industrialist and philanthropist. The award is granted annually to defray the cost of a visit to Israel for the purpose of enriching the recipient’s background and knowledge. All nominations must be submitted before Dec. 15, and will be reviewed by a national committee appointed by the AAJE, it was stated by Arnow who is also president of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund