Racoosin Given 1971 Weizmann Award; Stone, Feinberg Honored at Dinner
Menu JTA Search

Racoosin Given 1971 Weizmann Award; Stone, Feinberg Honored at Dinner

Download PDF for this date

Theodore R. Racoosin, vice-chairman of the American Committee for the Weizmann Institute of Science, received last night the 1971 Weizmann Award in Sciences and Humanities. The award was presented at the annual dinner of the Weizmann institute which was attended by 1,000 guests including seven Nobel laureates.

In making the presentation on behalf of the Scientific Council of the Institute, Dewey D. Stone, founding chairman of the Board of Governors of the Institute, said of Racoosin: “The abounding love this man has for the Institute, his understanding of the relevance of science to human progress and to the advancement of the State of Israel, have earned him the affection and recognition of the Institute as a whole.” Racoosin, 76, who has served the Institute since its inception, has also donated a professorial chair in biophysics.

Meyer W. Weisgal, chancellor of the Institute, sent regrets that for the first time in 27 years he would be unable to attend the annual dinner. Referring to Stone’s retirement as chairman of the Board, Weisgal stated in his message: “We shall miss Dewey more than words can express. But the knowledge that he will continue to guide and counsel us is of some consolation for his leaving us.” Abraham Feinberg, head of the American Committee for the Weizmann Institute and chairman of last night’s dinner, is taking Stone’s place. Referring to Feinberg, Weisgal stated that “we look forward with confidence and high hopes to Abe’s carrying the burden as effectively and devotedly as did his predecessor.”

The seven Nobel laureates attending the dinner, all Americans, were Dr. Glenn T. Seaborg, Chemistry (1951); Dr. Polykarp Kusch (1955) and Dr. William B. Schockley (1956), both for physics; and Dr. Albert von Szent-Gyorgyi (1937), Dr. Selman A. Waksman (1952), Dr. Andre F. Cournand (1956) and Dr. Edward L. Tatum (1958), all for Physiology and Medicine. At the dinner, as reported in advance in yesterday’s JTA Daily News Bulletin, Dr. Seaborg praised Israel for using her nuclear capabilities for peaceful purposes.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund