Menu JTA Search

Mrs. Meir Wins Israel Prize

Former Premier Golda Meir is the winner of this year’s Israel Prize. She won the prize for “life work in the service of state and society,” and will receive the prize in a ceremony on Independence Day. Other winners of the Israel Prize are: Prof. Shimon Halkin of the Hebrew University, an author and a poet, for Hebrew literature; Arye Simon, principal of the “Ben Shemen” youth village, for life work in education; Supreme Court Justice Yoel Sussman and Prof. Aharon Barak of the Hebrew University, for jurisprudence; and veteran actress Miriam Bernstein Cohen, for theater art. No prize will be awarded this year for engineering and technology.