Nominations for 1975 Smolar Award Being Accepted Deadline for Entries is September 12
Menu JTA Search

Nominations for 1975 Smolar Award Being Accepted Deadline for Entries is September 12

Download PDF for this date

Nominations for the 1975 Smolar Award for Excellence in North American Jewish Journalism are now being accepted, it was announced by Lavy M. Becker of Montreal, chairman of the Award Committee. “In response to the strong and diverse field of entries in recent competitions,” Becker noted that “this year, for the first time, awards will be presented to journalists for press coverage in eight categories that cover news, editorial and feature materials.”

The Award, established in 1972 by the Council of Jewish Federations and Welfare Funds (CJF) recognizes achievements by outstanding North American journalists whose work appears in English language newspapers substantially involved in the coverage of Jewish communal affairs and issues in the United States and Canada.

Created as a tribute to Boris Smolar, editor in-chief emeritus of the Jewish Telegraphic Agency, and an author and columnist, this annual award is the highest honor bestowed upon individuals in the American Jewish journalism field. This year’s awards will be announced at the CJF’s 44th general assembly in Miami, Nov. 19-23.


The eight categories making up this year’s competition and for which awards, as merited, will be made are; three in the area of “News” coverage for local, national and overseas reportage respectively; two for “Editorial” excellence–either a single editorial or a series, inclusive of cartoons, and for an outstanding regular column devoted to news analysis and commentary; and in the “Features” area, separate awards recognizing a series of articles on a special theme, a single article (inclusive of interviews, personality sketches, film, book reviews), and a regular column whose focus is the local community scene.

This year’s competition covers material published between June 1, 1974 and May 31, 1975, with the deadline for entries Sept. 12, 1975, Nominations can be made by newspapers and journalists of the American Jewish press, as well as organizations and interested individuals. A person can be nominated and/or enter the competition in more than one of the eight categories.

In announcing the opening of the ’75 Smolar Award competition, Becker commented that “the growing stature and service record being achieved by the North American Jewish press is a vital fact affecting us all. As informed individuals, better’ able to shape meaningful responses for ourselves and programs for our communities, we appreciate the extent to which a capacity for decision-making and community-building is due to an alert and dynamic press.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund