Menu JTA Search

Eec Members Sign Declaration Opposing Israel’s Ban from UN

The nine members of the European Economic Community signed a declaration yesterday in Helsinki opposing expulsion or suspension of Israel from the United Nations, it was reported here. Such a move would be a “flagrant violation” of the UN Charter they said in the declaration adopted at a meeting held in conjunction with the 35-nation European Security Conference in Helsinki. The Common Market members are Belgium, Britain, Denmark, France, Luxembourg. The Netherlands, Ireland, Italy and West Germany. It was also reported that two Communist countries, Yugoslavia and Czechoslovakia, supported the declaration.