Menu JTA Search

4 Receive Kaplun Prizes

The Hebrew University presented the 1976-77 Kaplun Prizes to four post doctoral researchers–Dr. Hillel Fradkin ( philosophy ),Dr. Stanley Kon ( physics ). Dr. Naoml Lukner ( chemistry ). and Dr. Stanley Messer ( psychology ).

The Kaplun Prizes, of $5000 each, are given to scholars who have made exceptional contributions in science, the humanities and social science, and to individuals who worked to promote peace or the welfare of Israel and the Jewish people.

The prize was established by the late American industrialist, Morris J. Kaplun, who together with his wife Betty, provided the prize as a contribution to the advancement of science in Israel.