$250,000 Endowment Grant Established by the Blaustein Family
Menu JTA Search

$250,000 Endowment Grant Established by the Blaustein Family

Download PDF for this date

Dr. Morton K. Blaustein, new chairman of the National Executive Council of the American Jewish Committee, announced the establishment of The Hilda Katz Blaustein Leadership Development Program. Its principal purpose is the development of leaders for the AJCommittee. The announcement was made at the 71st annual meeting of the AJCommittee which ended today.

Blaustein said it is expected that those who participate in the program shall, as a result, be able to render more effective service to the general Jewish community. An additional purpose of the program is to provide for the further development of leadership skills for members of the AJCommittee staff.

The program was created in honor of the 85th birthday of Mrs. Hilda Blaustein, Dr. Blaustein’s mother, and the widow of Jacob Blaustein, the industrialist and philanthropist, who died in 1970. An endowment grant of $250,000 was provided by members of the family, plus an additional $50,000 to fund the first five years’ activities of the program.

It was the second large endowment gift of the Blaustein family. At the annual meeting in May, 1971, the family announced a million-dollar endowment grant to the AJCommittee, which established the Jacob Blaustein Institute for the Advancement of Human Rights, in memory of Mr. Blaustein.

Dr. Blaustein announced the gift on behalf of his two sisters–Mrs. Barbara Hirshhom, of Pikesville, Md., and Mrs. Betty Roswell, of Bridgewater, N.J., and their husbands–and on behalf of Dr. Blaustein’s wife Rona and himself.


Richard Maass, of White Plains, N.Y., an investment management specialist, former Mayor of White Plains, and a nationally prominent figure in Jewish affairs, was elected 17th president of the AJCommittee. He succeeds Elmer L. Winter, Milwaukee business leader and former president of Manpower, Inc., who served two two-year terms in the presidential post. Winter was elected an honorary president.

Also elected to top positions were Maynard 1. Wishner, of Chicago, chairman, Board of Governors; and Howard 1. Friedman, of Los Angeles, chairman, Board of Trustees. Mass, a former chairman of the AJCommittee’s Board of Governors and NEC, was first chairman of the National Conference on Soviet Jewry.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund