Menu JTA Search

News Brief

Four Jewish candidates were elected to Ontario’s provincial legislature last week, two fewer than in the last legislature. The difference was accounted for by the retirement of Philip Givens and Vernon Singer, veteran Liberal Party parliamentarians and the defeat of Marvin Shore who stood for re-election. David Rotenberg, 47, was elected to his first term on the Progressive Conservative Party ticket. Three other Jewish MPs, all re-elected to their seats are Larry Grossman, 33, Progressive Conservative; Stephen Lewis, 39, New Democratic Party and Dr. Stuart Smith, 37, Liberal Party. Smith is expected to be opposition leader in the new legislature.