Israeli Independence Ball June 18
Menu JTA Search

Israeli Independence Ball June 18

Download PDF for this date

First Lady Rosalynn Carter is honorary chairman of the annual Israeli Independence Ball to be held Sunday, June 18 at the Washington Hilton Hotel in celebration of Israel’s 30th anniversary. The black-tie affair is under the patronage of Israeli Ambassador and Mrs. Simcha Dinitz. The honorary committee which she heads includes Vice President Walter Mondale, House Speaker Thomas O’Neill and five Cabinet members–Treasury Secretary Michael Blumenthal, Agriculture Secretary Bob L. Bergland, Commerce Secretary Juanita Kreps, Labor Secretary Ray Marshall and Transportation Secretary Brock Adams. Others on the committee are Senate and House Democratic and Republican leaders.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund