Menu JTA Search

Jackson Supports Soviet Dissidents for Nobel Peace Prize

Sen. Henry M. Jackson (D.Wash.) and seven of his colleagues have proposed a bipartisan Senate resolution to support the nomination of the Helsinki human rights monitoring group in the Soviet Union for this year’s Nobel Peace Prize.

The resolution presented by Jackson named the following Soviet citizens "of various faiths and nationalities" as meriting the Nobel award: Yuri Orlov; Alexander Ginzburg; Anatoly Shcharansky; Vladimir Slepak; Naum Meiman; Father Yankunin; Olexy Pikhy; Mykola Rudenko; Pyotor Vins; and Lenea Bonner, wife of Nobel Laureate Andrei Sakharov.