Menu JTA Search

Composition of Liberal Party Presidium

The nine members of the presidium which was created at the recent convention of the Liberal Party will include Leon Dulzin, chairman of the Jewish Agency and World Zionist Organization Executives. Dulzin withdrew his candidacy for Liberal Party chairman after the convention stripped that post of authority and gave it to the newly-named chairman of the presidium, Energy Minister Yitzhak Modai.

In addition to Modai and Dulzin, the presidium will include Deputy Premier Simcha Ehrlich, who was retained as party chairman; Minister-Without-Portfolio Moshe Nissim and Zvi Renner, the leader of the Liberal’s workers group. One seat is to go to someone from the party faction led by Commerce and Industry Minister Gideon Part. Modai is demanding that the other three spots go to his supporters, although he is expected to get only two of them.