Menu JTA Search

Chair Named for Harman

Download PDF for this date

The Hebrew University has inaugurated a chair in modem Jewish history in the name of its long-time president, Avraham Harman, a former Ambassador to the United States. The Board of Governors of Hebrew University under Sam Rothberg, its chairman, initiated the chair, sponsored by a group of Harman’s friends around the world. The first incumbent is Dr. Michael Graerz, 47, a Hebrew University graduate.

The dedication scroll refers to “our beloved president” and to Harman’s “sure grasp” of the mission of the Hebrew University and his” … respect from faculty and students alike.”

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund