Menu JTA Search

News Brief

A Jewish journalist has been awarded me 1982 Moses Mendelssohn Prize of the West Berlin Senate, Eva Reichmann, 84, who now lives in London, was the editor-in-chief of Berlin’s pre-war newspaper “Der Morgen.” In her book, “Die Flucht in den Hass” (Escape into Hatred, 1946), Reichmann investigated the causes of nationalist anti-Semitism. The Moses Mendelssohn Prize, which carries a stipend of DM 20,000, is awarded for “promoting tolerance toward those who think differently and between peoples, races, and religions.”