Some $100 Million Sought for a U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum
Menu JTA Search

Some $100 Million Sought for a U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum

Download PDF for this date

Eight persons have been appointed to the Honorary Campaign to Remember Committee which is seeking to raise more than $100 million for a United States Holocaust Memorial Museum to be built near the National Mall here.

The eight, named by Harvey Meyerhoff, chairman of the U.S. Holocaust Memorial Council, are: Walter Annenberg, publisher and former U.S. Ambassador to Britain; former Chief Justice Warren Burger; A. Bartlett Giamatti, president of the Baseball National League and former president of Yale University; Billy Graham, the evangelist; the Rev. Theodore Hesburgh, former president of Notre Dame University; Lane Kirkland, president of the AFL-CIO; Jeane Kirkpatrick, former U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations, and Sol Linowitz, former special ambassador for the Panama Canal treaties and Middle East negotiations.

President Reagan is honorary chairman of the committee. Earlier, Leonard Strelitz, of Virginia Beach, Va., was named as chairman of the fund-raising effort.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund