The New Israeli Cabinet
Menu JTA Search

The New Israeli Cabinet

Download PDF for this date

Following is a list of Cabinet members in the government approved Monday by the Knesset.

Prime Minister Yitzhak Shamir will retain the environmental protection and labor and social affairs portfolios, in order to have Cabinet posts available should the Moledet or Agudat Yisrael parties join the government.

Portfolio Minister Party

Prime Minister Yitzhak Shamir Likud

Foreign Affairs David Levy Likud

Industry & Trade Moshe Nissim Likud

Defense Moshe Arens Likud

Finance Yitzhak Modai Likud

Construction & Housing Ariel Sharon Likud

Justice Dan Meridor Likud

Police Ronni Milo Likud

Transport Moshe Katsav Likud

Economics & Planning David Magen Likud

Health Ehud Olmert Likud

Tourism Gideon Patt Likud

Absorption Yitzhak Peretz Indep

Interior Arye Deri Shas

Communications Rafael Pinhasi Shas

Education & Culture Zevulun Hammer NRP

Religious Affairs Avner Shaki NRP

Science and Energy Yuval Ne’eman Tehiya

Agriculture Rafael Eitan Tsomet

holds rank of deputy premier

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund