Menu JTA Search

News Brief

The Senate approved John Roberts as the new U.S. chief justice, with support from some Jewish senators. Roberts, 51, was approved 78-22 on Thursday. Jewish senators voted 7-4 on the confirmation: Sens. Norm Coleman (R-Minn.), Russell Feingold (D-Wisc.), Carl Levin (D-Mich.), Joseph Lieberman (D-Conn.), Arlen Specter (R-Pa.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.) and Herb Kohl (D-Wisc.) voted yes, while Sens. Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.), Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.) and Frank Lautenberg (D-N.J.) voted no.