Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

East Side-nominates Jewish Congress Delegates

May 29, 1923
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

One hundred fifty Jewish organizations of the East Side were represented at a Convention yesterday at the Bialostock Center, 228 E. Broadway, called to nominate fifty candidates for delegates to the American Jewish Congress. Max Eckman opened the Convention, which appointed Lewis Diamond as Chairman. The following fifty candidates were nominated, of whom 25 will be elected June 24th:

S. Ashkenazi, Dr. Bluestone, Joseph Barondess, Meyer Brown, Dr. L. Bernstein, Samuel Caplan, Louis Cahan. Congressman Dickstein, Nathan Drosher, William Eckman, M. Epstein, J. Gottlieb, Rabbi Gut, S. Goldstein, L. Grill, J. Hamlin, A. W. Josephson. Harry Guthlatt, J. Lipnik, B. Koenigsberg, Rabbi Iskolsky, M. Lipman, I. Levitsky, A. Maierovitch, Congressman, Perlman, R. Platrot. Nathan Straus, Abraham Shomer, Mendel Shapiro, Dr. Schlissel, Dr. Sheinholz, Max Wershleisser, A. Woliner, Ossip Wolinsky, Dr. Stephen S. Wise, Charles Shapiro, Dr. M. Waxman, J. Zaar, N. Zvirin, Max Pasternack, A. Speizhandler, J. Rabinowitz, Nathan Jarka, Louis Diamond and Dr. I. Kaufman

Recommended from JTA