Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Young Judeans to Develop “alumni” Clubs

July 3, 1923
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

Samuel Wants More Intellectuality in Organization

A movement to start groups for the “alumni” of Young Judea was started at the Convention of the association held yesterday.

The original motion for the formation of the ex-Young Judeans into a national organization was presented by Sylgan Kohn. An amended resolution was offered by Simon Greenberg, chairman of the Organization Committee, providing that all delegates endeavor to organize in their communities adult Zionist and cultural groups for practical Zionist work and for assistance to the Young Judea organization.

Resolutions were also adopted providing for the encouragement of the study of Hebrew and for the initiation by the League of work of a constructive nature, in Palestine.

The Education Committee also recommended the formation of leadership courses and the organization of Jewish libraries.

The convention at its meeting Sunday wiped out its deficit by raising $8,000.

President Borowsky’s report showed 650 Young Judeau Clubs. The sum of $10,000 was raised by these clubs for the National Fund during the past year.

In his address to the convention, Maurice Samuel urged the infusion of more intellectual and spiritual content in the work of the organization.

The following officers were elected: Nathan Straus, Chairman, Board of Trustees; Dr. David de Sola Pool, Associate Chairman; Moe Turman, President; Sylvan H. Kohn, Emanuel Newmann, David Tannenbaum, Vice-Presidents; Jacob L. Holtzman, Treasurer; The following were named to the Administrative Committee: Samuel J. Borowsky, Louis E. Goldstein, Louis J. Gribetz, Leon H. Lang, Rabbi Louis Schwefel; Executive Committee: Israel S. Chipkin, Arthur Cohn, Nathan B. Finkelstein, Mrs, ###s Grabelsky, Simon Greenberg, Rabbi Max Kadushin, David Levin, Miss Lotta Levensohn, Jeannette, Libel, Mrs. Fannie Newmann, William Rafiel, Mrs. Bernard Z. Rosenblatt, Maurice Samuel, David Schneeberg, Rabbi E. Charles, Sidney, Abe Tannenbaum, Mrs. Anna Turman, Jesse Weiss, of New York; Libby Jacobson, Sarah Copperstock, David Alberg, Boston; Mrs. Rose Fieferbrun, Binyamin Grossman, Philadelphia; I. Feinstein, Plainfield; Ruth Jacobson, Perth Amboy; Rabbi Solomon Grayzel; Camden; Theodore Krohn, Newark; Esther Zalkind, Bridgeport; Rabbi Max Arzt, Stamford; Rabbi Leon Spitzn, New Haven; Philip Slomowitz, Detroit; Miss Rose Berman, Minneapolis; Solomon Katz, Birmingham.

Recommended from JTA