Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Drive for $1,000,000 Seminary Fund Begun

November 12, 1923
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

The opening of a $1,000,000 endowment fund for the Jewish Theological Seminary was announced yesterday. New York’s quota is $500,000.

The Young People’s League of the United Synagogue of American has pledged $50,000; Congregation B’nai Jeshrun, $50,000, Temple Anshe Chesed, $30,000, Louis Marshall and Sol Rosenbloom, $25,000 each; Mr. and Mrs. Morris Lourie, $10,000; Samuel Untermyer and Louis Stroock, $5,000 each.

A conference will be held today in the auditorium of the seminary at 531 west 123rd Street, which will be attended by members of the Young People’s League and representatives of seventeen fraternities composed of college men and women.

Besides Rabbi Drob, the officers of the national committee are: Louis Marshall, Honorary Chairman; Sol Rosenbloom of Pittsburgh, Vice-Chairman; Henry A. Dix, Treasurer; Rabbi Samuel M. Cohen, Secretary; M. A. Stavitsky, Executive Director; Dr. Cyrus Adler, Dr. Elias L. Solomon, President of the United Synagogue of America, and Dr. Louis M. Epstein, President of the Rabbinical Assembly, Honorary Vice-Presidents; David A. Brown of Detroit, Counsel to the committee, and Mrs. Jacob Kohn of New York, head of the women’s Division, with Mrs. Alexander Kohut and Mrs. Samuel Spiegel as Associated Chairmen.

Recommended from JTA