Central Conference of American Rabbis Re-elects Rabbi Wolsey
Menu JTA Search

Central Conference of American Rabbis Re-elects Rabbi Wolsey

Download PDF for this date

(Jewish Daily Bulletin)

The reelection of Rabbi Louis I. Wolsey as president of the Central Conference of American Rabbis marked the conclusion of that body’s thirty-seventh annual conference here.

Among the resolutions adopted at the final session of the convention was one to send a message of felicitation to President Coolidge on the Sesqui-Centennial of American Independence.

“The Central Conference of American Rabbis in annual convention assembled at Asheville, N. C., hails the Sesqui-Centennial of the Declaration of Independence” the message to the President stated. “The spirit of freedom which inspired the framers of the Declaration has through all these years fostered the growth and prosperity of our nation. The government of the United States which, in the words of George Washington, gives to persecution no sanction and to bigotry no assistance, has remained true to the high ideals of the fathers of the republic.”

The Executive Committee of the Conference was urged to study the possibility of establishing a Reform Synagogue in Palestine and also urged that this study include other lands where possibilities for Reform Judaism exist. Felicitations of the Conference were extended to the Conference of Libral Judaism to be held in London July 10th to July 12th, which will be attended by President Wolsey and eighteen other members of the Conference. The committee also urged that a full investigation be made of the aims and purposes of the new Roman Catholic Organization called “The Friends of Israel” to which President Wolsey referred at the opening session of the convention.

Besides the re-election of President Wolsey, the other officers chosen by the Conference were: Vice-President, Hyman G. Enelow, New York City, reelected for second term; Treasurer, Morris Newfield of Birmingham, Ala., reelected for fourth term; Recording Secretary, Isaac E. Marcuson, of Macon, Ga., reelected for eleventh term; Corresponding Secretary, Joseph L. Fink of Buffalo.

Representatives chosen to the Union of American Hebrew Congregations were: To the Executive, Louis I. Wolsey, four years; Board of Governors, two years, Abram Simon, Washington. D. C.; Isaac E. Marcuson, Macon, Ga. and James Gheller, Cincinnati; Board of Managers, three years, Barnet R. Brickner, Cleveland; Ephraim Frisch, San Antonio, Tex.; Eugene Mannheimer, Des Moines. Ia.; Commission on Pension Fund, Joseph Stolz, Chicago; Marcus Salzman, Wilkes-Barre, Pa.: Commission on Religious Education, Joseph Baron, Davenport, Ia.; Harry W. Ettelson, Memphis. Tenn.; David Marx, Atlanta, Ga.; Samuel Mendelsohn, Chicago; Joseph Bauch, Louisville, Ky., and Samuel Schulman, New York City.


The Masonic Palestine Foundation of New York City has contributed an additional $5,000, making a total of $15,000 that it has given within a year toward its pledge of $30,000 to the building fund of the Hebrew Teachers’ College of Jerusalem, according to the announcement of Dr. David Yellin. head of the college, who is now in America in the interests of the fund.

The fund that Dr. Yellin is seeking to raise with the cooperation of an American committee, is $175,000, toward which Mr. Julius Rosenwald has pledged a contribution of $75,000.

Among those who have responded to the plea of Dr. Yellin since his return to America in April are: Felix M. Warburg, $2,000; Harry Fischel, $1,500; Louis Marshall. $1.000; Moses Eisenman, $1,000; all of New York City; Mr. Lipmann Bloch, of Breslau, Germany, $1,000, and an anonymous contribution from London, England, $1,000.

The members of the American Committee who are associated with Dr. Yellin are: Dr. Harry Friedenwald, Chairman; Israel Unterberg, Treasurer; Dr. David de Sola Pool, Secretary: Alfred M. Cohen, Dr. Alexander M. Dushkin, Harry P. Fierst, Rabbi Israel Goldstein, Dr. George A. Kohut, Arthur M. Lamport, Louis Lipsky, Solomon Lowenstein, Judge Julian W. Mack, Rabbi Louis L. Mann, Louis Marshall, Israel Marz, Julius Rosenwald, Henrietta Szold, Rabbi J. Max Weis, Dr. Stephen S. Wise.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund