Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Zangwill Memorial to Be Held Sunday

September 22, 1926
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

American Jewry will pay its tribute to the memory of the late Israel Zangwill at a memorial mass meeting next Sunday evening, September 26th, in Carnegie Hall.

The meeting is being arranged by the Israel Zangwill Memorial Committee which is composed of representative Jews of all classes and leaders of the following organizations: America Jewish Committee, Independent Order B’nai B’rith, Independent Order B’rith Abraham, National Council of Jewish Women, Hadassah, Judaeans and the Zionist Organization of America. Chairman of the committee is the famous Jewish philanthropist Nathan Straus and the vice-chairmen are Dr. Stephen S. Wise, Louis Marshall, Daniel Guggenheim, Sol M. Stroock, Cyrus L. Sultzberger and Judge Otto M. Rosalsky.

Addresses will be delivered by Prof. Robert Morse Lovett, Dr. Wise, Mr. Marshall and Mr. Stroock, who will also be the presiding officer. The famous actress of the English and Yiddish stage Mme. Bertha Kalisch, will read from Zangwill’s works and musical selections will be rendered by Mme. Sara Sokolsky-Freid.

The committee in charge of the meeting includes Franklin P. Adams, Adolph S. Ochs, David Belasco, Felix M. Warburg, Judge Benjamin N. Cardoza, Prof. Franz Boas, Daniel Frohman, Babette Deutsch, Louis K. Anspacher, Judge Abram I. Elkus, Herman Bernstein, Sam A. Lewisohn, Lawrence Langner, Judge Aaron J. Levy, Henry Morgenthau, George W. Ochs Oakes, Bernard G. Richards, Hon. Carl Sherman, Louis Lipsky, Max D. Steuer, Louis Wiley, Mrs. Wm. D. Sporborg, Judge Gustave Hartman, Dr. A. J. Rongy, Dr. Isaac Landman, Samson Lachman, Max J. Kohler, Rabbi Nathan Krass, Benjamin Winter, William Morris, David M. Bressler and Rabbi Jonah B. Wise. Mr. Samuel Kaplan is secretary of the committee.

Dr. Lee K. Frankel, Second Vice President of the Metropolitan Life Insurance Company, announced that all the company’s nurses in Florida have been ordered to report to Red Cross relief stations in the hurricane area for duty.

Assemblyman Samuel L Rosenman will be named to fill the vacancy in the Legislative Bill Drafting Commission at Albany, it was reported. The post was vacated by William J. McCormick to become Bill Drafting Commissioner of New York City.

Recommended from JTA