Search JTA's historical archive dating back to 1923

Inter-party Parliament Committee for Palestine is Formed in Commons

October 22, 1926
See Original Daily Bulletin From This Date

(Jewish Telegraphic Agency)

A non-partisan parliamentary committee consisting of 70 M. P.’s which will be composed of members of all parties in the House of Commons, was formed to further the interests of Palestine, the Jewish Telegraphic Agency learns from authoritative sources.

The initiative for forming this committee was taken by Samuel Finburgh and Lt. Com. J. M. Kenworthy and comprises at present 40 Conservative members, including Alexander Scott, De Fonblanque Pennefather, Lt. Col. Wilson, Charles G. Ammon; 15 Liberals headed by Lloyd George, and Laborites including Ramsay MacDonald, Philip Snowden, J. R. Clynes and Col. Josiah Wedgwood.

The committee has a non-political character and its purpose is to see to it that the Balfour Declaration is carried out, to support Great Britain’s policy as the mandatory power and to watch Palestine affairs.

The first meeting of the committee will be held when parliament reassembles.

Recommended from JTA