New York Launches U.p.a. $2,500,000 Campaign at Massmeeting Tomorrow
Menu JTA Search

New York Launches U.p.a. $2,500,000 Campaign at Massmeeting Tomorrow

Download PDF for this date

New York will launch a drive for $2,500,000, its quota in the United Palestine Appeal of $7,500,000, at a mass meeting in Mecca Temple on Monday evening.

Judge William M. Lewis, National Chairman of the United Palestine Appeal, will preside at the meeting. Among the speakers will be Dr. Chaim Weizmann, president of the World Zionist Organization; Commander J. M. Kenworthy, member of the British Parliament; Louis Lipsky, president of the Zionist Organization of America; Dr. Stephen S. Wise, honorary chairman of the Appeal; Prof. Selig Brodetsky, one of the governors of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem; Emanuel Neumann, chairman of the Executive Committee of the United Palestine Appeal; Morris Rothenberg, chairman of the National Board of Directors of the Keren Hayesod; Rabbi Jacob Levinson, president of the Mizrachi Organization; Judge Bernard A. Rosenblat, president of the Board of Directors of the Jewish National Fund; Mrs. Anna Moscowitz Kross who heads the Women’s Division of the Campaign, and Dr. Chaim Arlosoroff.

New York’s quota this year is one million dollars over the amount raised last year. The Jewish community of New York is expected to shoulder one-fourth of the world Zionist budget of $10,000,000. Among the larger cities which have already raised their quota in the United Palestine Appeal are; Cincinnati, Cleveland, Boston and Baltimore. In many cities the drives are just beginning. Many will launch their campaigns in the spring.

In anticipation of the beginning of the New York drive on Monday the city has been divided into twelve districts with a sectional director for each. The sectional chairmen are: East Side, Philip Luria, chairman; Joseph Barondess, honorary chairman; Harlem and Yorkville, David Epstein, president; Israel Sachs, chairman; Washington Heights, Hon. Dr. Louis J. Harris, Honorary Chairman; Abe, Leibovitz, chairman; Bronx, Bernard Crausman, president; Louis Altschul, chairman.

Brooklyn, which is to raise $800,000 of the two and a half million New York quota has sixteen sectional chair men. East New York, J. H. Cohen, president; Louis Horowitz, chairman; Brownsville, S. Barnett, president, M. Sapir, chairman; Boulevard Section, M. Weinberg, chairman; New Lots, Dr. Arthur Levine, chairman, Abraham Feit, honorary chairman; Eastern Parkway, Rabbi J. H. Levinthal, honorary chairman, Jacob Goell, chairman; Williamsburg, Max Blumberg, chairman; South Brooklyn and Bay Ridge, I. J. Moss, chairman; Borough Park, Max Perlman, chairman; Flatbush, Max Kiss, honorary chairman; Albert D. Schamzer, chairman; Bensonhurst, Samuel Kramer, chairman; Mapleton Park, Samuel Lipson, chairman; Manhattan Beach, David Aaronson, chairman: Coney Island, Herman Shampain, chairman; Seagate, James Garmesy, chairman; Brighton Beach. Adolph Balsam, chairman.

The Women’s Division has assumed a quota of $250,000. The Staten Island chairman is Max Levy and the Mt. Vernon committee is headed by H. P.

January 15th was proclaimed “Palestine Sabbath,” by leading New York rabbis as preparatory to the opening of the New York campaign.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund