B’rith Sholom Order of Baltimore Elects New Administration
Menu JTA Search

B’rith Sholom Order of Baltimore Elects New Administration

Download PDF for this date

(Jewish Daily Bulletin)

Harry B Wolf was elected Grand Master of the Independent Order of B’rith Sholom of Baltimore at the twenty-fifth annual convention of the organization which closed here Monday evening. Other officers elected were:

First deputy grand master, Mayer Caplan; second deputy grand master, Alexander Pogorelskin; third deputy grand master, Morris Abramson; fourth deputy grand master, Joseph Marcus; fifth deputy grand master, Benjamin Jacobs; grand secretary, David Paulson; general grand treasurer, Dr. David A. Greenberg; endowment treasurer, Meyer Frieded; grand counselor, Eugene Schonfield; trustees, William Blumberg. Isaac Rogers and B. L. Sacks.

Mrs. Samuel N. Fridele was chosen to head the women’s auxiliary, with the title of Grand Matron.

A resolution extending greetings to Col. Charles A. Lindbergh. Charles A. Levine and Clarence D. Chamberlin, the transatlantic flyers, was adopted. A resolution also was adopted petitioning Congress for light wines and beer. Other resolutions passed were: approval of the Zionist movement, and the organization of a junior order of the B’rith Sholom.

In an address Monday afternoon Governor Albert C. Ritchie highly praised the order for its relief work. He also expressed gratitude for the formation of the Albert C. Ritchie Lodge of the order, organized in his honor. R. Waler Graham, City Comptroller, and Representative Vincent L. Palmisano spoke Monday night.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund