Twenty-one Americans Are Elected to Council on Jewish Rights
Menu JTA Search

Twenty-one Americans Are Elected to Council on Jewish Rights

Download PDF for this date

(Jewish Telegraphic Agency)

American Jews were given a prominent place in the Council on Jewish Rights, created at the Conference on Jewish Rights which ended its sessions here Saturday night. The new organization, which will take the place of the Committee of Jewish Delegations, was formed for the purpose of safeguarding the minority rights guaranteed in the International peace treaties concluded after the World War.

Twenty one seats were given to American Jews on the Council which will have 51 members. The other thirty members of the Council are representatives of Jewish groups in thirty countries. Dr Stephen S. Wise, president of the American Jewish Congress; Nahum Sokolow. chariman of the Executive of the World Zionist Organization; Dr. Leo Motzkin of Paris; Dr Z. H. Chajes. Chief Rabbi of Vienna; Dr. Simon Dubnow, Russian Jewish historian, and Deputy Isaac Gruenbaum of Warsaw were elected to the praesidium of the Council.

The American members of the Council are Max D. Steuer of New York, Rabbi Max Heller of New Orleans. Rabbi Barnet Brickner of Cleveland, Judge Gustave Harirnan, Louis Lipsky, Jacob Fishman. Max Hollander, Dr. Joseph Tenenbaum, Martin O. Levy, secretary of the Independent Order Brith Sholom; Bernard G. Richards. Dr. A. Coralnick, Robert Silverman of Boston, Benjamin Titman. Emanuel Hertz of New York, Mrs. Archibald Silverman of Providence, Judge Hugo Pam of Chicago, George Fox, Carl Sherman. Benjamin Winter, Leo Wollson and Marvin Lowenthal, representative of the American Jewish Congress in Europe.

The plan of the organization for the new body was submitted to the Conference by Louis Lipsky, president of the Zionist Organization of America, and was unanimously adopted.

An executive committee was also elected, consisting of all the members of the praesidium and Deputy H. Farbstein, Jeffroikin, Dr. Emil Margolis of Czechoslovakia, Dr. Leon Reich of Lemberg and Deputy Robinson of Kovno. Another seat on the executive was reserved for an American.

A lively discussion preceded the adoption by the Conference of a resolution protesting against the persecutions of the Zionists and the Hebrew language in Soviet Russia. This resolution was sponsored by M. M. Ussishkin, head of the Jewish National Fund in Jerusalem, and Rabbi Max Heller of New Orleans.

The Conference also adopted a number of resolutions concerning Jewish problems in Europe, including one which charges some of the governments of the new and enlarged states with failure to carry into effect the international obligations with regard to conferring citizenship upon the old residents within their territories.

The Conference also adopted a resolution expressing its thanks to the American Jewish Congress and the Committee of Jewish Delegations for their labors in behalf of Jewish rights, naming especially Dr. Stephen S. Wise, Nahum Sokolow and Dr. Leo Motzkin.

The Conference acted on a number of resolutions submitted by its various committees. A series of resolutions submitted by Dr. Joseph Tenenbaum on behalf of the Economic Committee dealt with the discrimination against Jews in the European countries in the economic field. A resolution introduced by delegate Tcherikow urged the creation of an organization of all Statenlose men who are denied citizenship in their country of residence) was adopted by the conference.

The Conference also adopted a resolution introduced by Deputy Gruenbaun pledging it to participate in the efforts of the international organizations active in the fields of social welfare and the protection of rights.

The conference was concluded with addresses by Dr. Leo Motzkin, Rabbi Max Heller, Dr. Simon Dubnow, M. M. Ussishkin. Louis Lipsky, Dr. Z. H. Chajes. Deputy Gruenbaum, Dr. Leon Reich, Anita Muller-Cohen, Dr. Emil Margolies, Rabbi Nurok and Dr. Stephen S. Wise.

According to a cable from Dr. A. Coralnick to the New York “Day,” the last session of the conference caused dissatisfaction among a great number of delegates. Many of the delegates complained that the deliberations of the last session were conducted in too great haste. The East European representatives were also dissatisfied with the fact that Americans were given chief place in the newly organized Council. The American delezates have undertaken to raise almost half of the budget required for the work of the Council the cable stated.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund