N.Y. Student Committees Or.ganize Protest at Roumanian and Hungarian Riots
Menu JTA Search

N.Y. Student Committees Or.ganize Protest at Roumanian and Hungarian Riots

Download PDF for this date

Dr. Frederick B. Robinson, of the College of the City of New York, will preside at a protest meeting against the riots in Roumania and in Hungary to be held on Sunday, December 18, at 2 P. M. at Cooper Union. The meeting is being arranged by the students committee, composed of representatives from various colleges and universities in New York City organized for the purpose of protesting against the anti-Semitic activities of students in European countries.

The speakers announced are Louis Marshall, Dr. Stephen S. Wise, Congressman William I. Sirovich, Nathan D. Perlman, Bishop Paul Jones, Max D. Steuer, Norman Thomas, Dr. Mordecai M. Kaplan, B. C. Vladeck, and Senator Royal S. Copeland.

In a communication to the Students Committee Dr. Robinson wrote: “I express sentiments in favor of fair play to all people regardless of race or creed. Educators cannot properly discriminate against Jewish students, nor should their fellow-students prosecute them because or race or creed. All liberal minded people should do whatever they can with propriety and effectiveness to spread the gospel of fair play. Nothing is more out of keeping with the American spirit than the persecution of a person or group because of race, creed or color. Furthermore, there is no field of altruistic human endeavor in which complete tolerance and open minded fairness is more essential than education. It is the function of the educator to transmit the race heritage to all. He cannot properly discriminate in his ministration against any group. Education of all levels should be available to all men who by character and scholarship are fit to receive it. Certainly the Jews, in all ages, have demonstrated their capacity for scholarship.”

The officers of the Students Committee are: Andrew Wagner, chairman, John Salater, treasurer, Albert Lorain and Arthur Mayerson, secretary.

A testimonial dinner was given last night at the Hotel Pennsylvania to Harry L. Glucksman, executive director of the Jewish Welfare Board, on the occasion of his ten years of work with the Board. Mr. Glucksman came to the Jewish Welfare Board in December 1917 as assistant executive director and in July 1919 was appointed to his present post. Louis Kraft, director of Jewish Center Activities of the Board, presided.

Mr. Glucksman is a member of the Board of Directors of the 92nd Street Y.M.H.A. a member of the executive committees of the National Conference of Jewish Social Work and the National Association of Jewish Center Workers, for of Jewish Center Activities of the School for Jewish Social Work.

Founding Funders

The digitization of the JTA Archive would not have been possible without the generous support of the following donors:
  • The Gottesman Fund
  • Righteous Persons Foundation
  • Charles H. Revson Foundation
  • Elisa Spungen Bildner and Robert Bildner, in honor of Norma Spungen
  • George S. Blumenthal
  • Grace and Scott Offen Charitable Fund